For years, miso was somewhat of a mystery ingredient to me. When I started eating gluten free, I knew that I had to stay away from miso soup if I ate at a Japanese restaurant, so I sort of just assumed miso was off the table in all recipes.
Turns out I was wrong!! *Insert cheering and excited face* 🙂
It turns out miso is an amazing ingredient to cook with, both for taste and for nutrition content. Miso is a Japanese seasoning that is made from a blend of soybeans, sea salt, a culture and rice. NOTE: Not all are gluten free. Some are made from barley or wheat, in which case it is not gluten free.
Miso is fermented and any fermented foods are amazing for your digestion and gut bacteria.
At this point, I’ve never found miso in the regular grocery store, but you can definitely buy it at the health food store, and perhaps even the Asian food markets like T&T. It's in the refrigerated section.